ICC T20 Worldcup 2020 Teams

The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 matches were announced in Sydney, Australia, Tuesday morning (summertime in Eastern Australia). For the first time, the T20 Women’s and Men’s World Cup will be held as separate events in the same year and the same country. The international cricket council has released the complete list of ICC T20 World Cup Teams.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will be held in Australia from October 18 to November 15, 2020. The final of the T20 Cricket 2020 World Cup will be held at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Teams:

16 teams are participating in this T20 World Cup. In ICC T20 World Cup, which lasts for about a month, the list of 16 teams who are going to participate against each other has been finalized. It was announced on Thursday through the official Twitter of the ICC.

Six teams have qualified in the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 qualifier matches being played in different stadiums of Dubai. Earlier, a host team got direct entry along with the top 9 teams in the ICC T20 rankings, while the remaining 6 teams have gone through the qualifier rounds.


After the teams of Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, Namibia, and Scotland in the ICC T20 World Cup qualifier matches being played in Dubai, Oman’s team has also cut the T20 World Cup tickets to be held in Australia next year. Oman’s team, after defeating Hong Kong by 12 runs, has submitted a claim to play the T20 World Cup. Some of these teams can also compete with legendary teams like India.

Complete list of Teams:

The opening match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 will be played between Sri Lanka and Ireland at the Kardinia Park Stadium. Participating teams are as follows:

(1) Afghanistan

(2) Australia

(3) Bangladesh (have to play qualify match)

(4) England

(5) India

(6) Ireland

(7) Namibia

(8) Netherlands

(9) New Zealand

(10) Oman

(11) Pakistan

(12) Papua New Guinea

(13) Scotland

(14) South Africa

(15) Sri Lanka (have to play qualify match)

(16) West Indies

Groups of Teams:

Men’s Group A Men’s Group B
Pakistan India
Australia England
West Indies South Africa
New Zealand Afghanistan
Qualifier 1 Qualifier 3
Qualifier 2 Qualifier 4


ICC T20 Men’s World Cup Winners List:

  • 2007: India
  • 2009: Pakistan
  • 2010: England
  • 2012: West Indies
  • 2014: Sri Lanka
  • 2016: West Indies


Summary of ICC Cricket T20 World Cup 2020:

ICC  T20 World Cup 2020                From 18 October to 15 November 2020
Host Australia
Administrator International Cricket Council (ICC)
Format T20 (20 Over Cricket League Match)
Opening Match       18 October 2020 | Sri Lanka vs Ireland in Simonds Stadium Geelong
Semi-Final-1 11 November 2020 | Sydney Cricket Ground Sydney
Semi-Final-2 12 November 2020 | Adelaide Oval Adelaide
Final Match 15 November 2020 | Melbourne Cricket Ground Melbourne
Participants Team 16
Total Matches played        45

ICC Men’s T20 Team Rankings:

No Team/Country Points
1 Pakistan 270
2 Australia 269
3 England 21 265
4 South Africa 262
5 India 258
6 New Zealand 252
7 Sri Lanka 238
8 Afghanistan 236
9 Bangladesh 227
10 West Indies 225
11 Zimbabwe 194
12 Nepal 190
13 Scotland 187
14 Ireland 184
15 UAE 184
16 Netherlands 179
17 Oman 177
18 Papua New Guinea 176
19 Namibia 153
20 Hong Kong 143

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *